Powering up for NaNo 2012!

I’m getting ready for NaNoWriMo 2012.

Which means I won’t have a social life for a month. But that’s okay – anyone who knows me knows that I’m a boring old lady anyway 😉

But seriously, this year I’ve decided to use NaNo as time to get the rewrites done on EarthWitch. I’ve been working on it anyway, but by dedicating 1500 words minimum every day to Da Novel, I should be able to get a large chunk of editing done. The goal is to get it editor-ready by the end of the year. Only taken me 7 years to get there but oh well – life has a habit of getting in the way.

I’ll be posting the book here. If you’ve read earlier versions of the novel, you’ll find that the new version has a lot that is quite different. Characters have changed, names and places are different, dialogue is actually interesting – that kind of stuff. So bear with me – I’ll try to make it a worthwhile read.

If you want to follow the book, you can either just visit the blog here (a good way of remaining one of my incognito readers, if that’s your style). Or you can “follow” with wordpress. Or you can subscribe with email. I’d kind of like people to let me know they’re reading, as feedback is always good – after all, the whole point of writing a book is to have it read!

Anyway, the first chapter will appear at this site on or around November 1. Subsequent chapters will appear daily. And if you want anything to read of mine in the meanwhile, you’ll find “Vortex”, which is last year’s NaNo novel, at this blog. It’s not particularly good, as it was written without any sort of a plan in mind – I was experimenting with “free flow novelisation” a.k.a. “making it up as you go along”. But it might float your goat, so have a look.

And if you’re interested in doing NaNo yourself, the NaNoWriMo website is here. And my profile is here. Drop by, say hello, and add me as a fellow writer 🙂

Happy reading!

Leave a Reply

